Welsh Parliament / Senedd Cymru supported as new name for National Assembly of Wales

The National Assembly for Wales (Welsh: Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru) is set to be renamed the Welsh Parliament / Senedd Cymru. After a public consultation sixty-one percent of nearly 3,000 responses agreed to a change of name as the best option. The assembly was given the power to rename itself under the 2017 Wales Act. Last July Assembly members had unanimously backed the idea and subsequently it was put out to public consultation. Legislation on assembly reforms, which will include the change of name, are to be published by the Assembly Commission in 2018. A law to change the name is expected to pass before the 2021 election.

Plaid Cymru leader Leanne Wood welcomed the name change, saying the assembly's stature and confidence had evolved over time. Welsh First Minister Carwyn Jones said: "The name Welsh Parliament / Senedd Wales will help to enhance understanding of the assembly and reflect its status as a national parliament, on a par with the other legislatures in the UK." Heledd Gwyndaf, chair of Welsh language campaign group Cymdeithas yr Iaith Gymraeg, was keen that Senedd should be the only name chosen, which would give: "an opportunity to normalise the use of Welsh." 

This blog is provided for general informational purposes only. The opinions expressed here are the author's alone and not necessarily those of Transceltic.com.