Isle of Man - Mannin

Isle of Man (Mannin) is located in the north Irish Sea off northwestern Europe. Ireland is to the left, England to the right, Scotland to the north and Wales to the south. The island comprises 227 square miles (588 square kilometres) and it measures approx. 33 miles long by 13 miles wide. The population is largely accommodated in the four main towns: Douglas (Manx: Doolish), Ramsey (Manx: Rhumsaa), Peel (Manx: Purt ny h-Inshey) and Castletown (Manx: Balley Chashtal) . Those who come from the island are known as Manx.

The cultural influences for the island originate from the indigenous Celtic peoples. The Vikings arrived in the Island around 800 AD and the fusion of cultures took place which is still evident in the archaeology, language and place-names and Parliamentary traditions of the island. 

The Manx language, one of the Gaelic languages, closer to Irish and Scottish than to Welsh, Cornish and Bretagne, is still spoken in the Island although the primary language is English. The island has its own Government, Tynwald, (derived from the Viking term for 'assembly place'), which operates separately from the UK Government.

Introduction to Manx history